HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me

Happiness is our nature. It is not wrong to desire it. What is wrong is seeking it outside when it is inside - Ramana Maharshi

 Glossary of Spiritual Terms from Sanatana Dharma (Hinduism)
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
SadhakSeeker or spiritual practitioner
SadhanaSpiritual or devotional practice
SadhviFemale sadhu who has renounced the worldly life
SagunaManifested, having form and/or qualities
SamaRestraint of mind
SamadhiSuper-conscious blissful state or communion with the God
SamsaraWorldly life
SamskarasKarma impressions on mind - combination of Trigunas
Sanatana DharmaLaw of Eternal or Universal Righteousness
Sanchita KarmaAccumulated account of actions, Accumulated total credit and debit Karma balances in account. Both and maintained separately.
SankalpaThought or will
Sankalpa-VikalpaWill and doubts
Santosh, SantoshaContentment
Sanyas, SanyasaRenunciation, renounced life
SanyasinFemale monk
Sashtras, SastrasScriptures
Sat-Chit, SatchitExistence-Consciousness
Satchidananda BrahmanIdentify oneself with the infinite "I", the Bliss, the Atman
Satchidananda, Sat-chid-anandaExistence-consciousness-bliss
SatsangaCompany of the holy
SattvaDivine purity
SattvicDivine, holy
Satya, SathyaTruth
Satya-AcharaTrue living. This is opposite of false living (mithya-achara)
Sauca, Shucha, SuchaInternal and external purity
SevaDivine service, Service performed at Guru"s Ashram or Math
ShaktiEnergy, Divine power
ShantiPeace, tranquility
Shlokas, SlokasVerses
ShrutiNot of human agency - they are supposed to have been directly revealed. Shrutis are the sacred text revealed directly by God to Man (Rishis)
SiddhisSupernatural, divine powers
Smaran, SmaranaRemembering
SraddhaFaith, belief
Sreyas MargaSpiritual path, This is opposite to Preyas Marga (sensual life)
Sushumna (Nadi)Sushumna is one of three important Nadis of human energy center. The other two are Ida and Pingala. Nadis are astral tubes or subtle energy channels carrying abundance of Prana. Human body carries 72,000 Nadis that are not visible to naked eye. Kundalini is one of the primary components of man"s "subtle body", which consists of 72,000 nadis (subtle energy channels), chakras (psychic centres), prana (subtle energy), and bindu (drops of essence). Kundalini travels thru Sushumna. Kundalini Yoga is about purification of 72,000 Nadis. When Sushumna is pure, then only will the Kundalini pass through it. The progress of kundalini through the different chakras leads to different levels of awakening and mystical experiences, until the Kundalini finally reaches the top of the head, Sahasrara chakra, attaining the Self-Realization or enlightenment or moksha. When kundalini is taken to the Sahasrara (the crown of the head), when she is united with Lord Siva, perfect Samadhi (super-conscious, blissful state) ensues. Here the Yogi drinks the nectar of immortality.
Swadhyay, SwadhyayaStudy of scriptures and literature written by realized sages. Svadhyaya is also inquiry of the nature of Atman (Self), or "Who am I?". It is the fourth anga (limb) of Niyama (discipline) in Raja Yoga. It is recitation of mantras (sacred formulas) also. Svadhyaya is Satsanga (company of holy ones). Svadhyaya clears doubts, it strengthens the faith, it induces strong yearning for liberation or aspiration, it gives encouragement and illumination. . It inspires the mind and fills it with Sattva (divine purity). It helps concentration and meditation.
SwaroopOwn-self, the essential nature of Brahman

Yoga is an exact science. It aims at the harmonious development of body, mind and soul. Everyone should follow one Yoga as their primary Yoga (based on their character). Then we must combine Karma Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Bhakti Yoga and Gyan Yoga. This “Yoga Synthesis” will lead one to the God.
HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me
Kundalini Yoga is also known by the names: Siddha Yoga, Sahaj Yoga, Shaktipat Yoga, Maha Yoga, Shakti Yoga or Kriya Yoga