HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me

Happiness is our nature. It is not wrong to desire it. What is wrong is seeking it outside when it is inside - Ramana Maharshi

 Glossary of Spiritual Terms from Sanatana Dharma (Hinduism)
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
DamaControl of senses
DanavaIn Vedic mythology the Danavas were a race descending from Daksha in Hindu. The Danavas were the sons of Danu, who in turn was a daughter of Daksha.
DarsanasWritings of the six philosophical schools of Hindu religious thought
DarshanAuspicious vision, Divine vision.
DevaMale deity
DevataThe Vedic deities are referred to as Devatas .
DeviFemale deity
DharanaConcentration of the mind combined with retention of breath. The sixth limb of Yoga, dharana, is referred to as 'concentration.' Dharana (from Sanskrit) is translated as 'collection or concentration of the mind (joined with the retention of breath)', or 'the act of holding, bearing, wearing, supporting, maintaining, retaining, keeping back (in remembrance), a good memory, or firmness, steadfastness, certainty.'
DharmaDharma is a key concept with multiple meanings in the Indian religions Hinduism, Buddhism, Sikhism and Jainism. In Hinduism, dharma signifies behaviors that are considered to be in accord with rta, the order that makes life and universe possible, and includes duties, rights, laws, conduct, virtues and 'right way of living'.
Dharma ShastrasLaw Books forming part of the scriptures of Hinduism. Dharma-shastra, in Sanskrit means "righteousness science" is ancient Indian body of jurisprudence that is still fundamentally the family law of Hindus living in territories outside India and is in force, subject to legislative modification, in India. Dharma-shastra is not primarily concerned with legal administration, though courts and their procedures are dealt with comprehensively, but with the right course of conduct in every dilemma.
DhatusBodily tissues in Ayurvedic medicine. These are the structures that make up the body. The seven Dhatus are the seven tissues of the body: they are; plasma, blood, muscle, fat, bone, marrow / nerve and reproductive tissue. In Sanskrit, they are rasa, rakta, mamsa, medas, asthi, majja and shukra. An understanding of the seven Dhatus is important to understanding pathology or, what goes wrong in the body. When a Dosha enters a Dhatu, a proper understanding of the Dhatu helps the practitioner predict the symptoms that will manifest and provides clues to the best treatment.
Dhyan, DhyanaMeditation
Divya gandhaSupernatural scent
Diwali, Divali, DiwaliDiwali is Hindu festival of lights. Diwali is celebrated in autumn every year. The festival spiritually signifies the victory of light over darkness, knowledge over ignorance, good over evil, and hope over despair.
Dosha-drishtiSeeing of defects in objects
DoshasAyurveda is based on the principles of three doshas. Doshas are the energies that make up every individual, which perform different physiological functions in the body. The three doshas are known as: Vata, Pitta and Kapha. 1) Vata Dosha -- controls bodily functions associated with motion, including blood circulation, breathing, blinking, and your heartbeat. In balance: There is creativity and vitality. Out of balance: Can produce fear and anxiety. 2. Pitta Dosha -- Energy that controls the body's metabolic systems, including digestion, absorption, nutrition, and your body's temperature. In balance: Leads to contentment and intelligence. Out of balance: Can cause ulcers and anger. 3. Kapha Dosha -- Energy that controls growth in the body. It supplies water to all body parts, moisturizes the skin, and maintains the immune system. In balance: Expressed as love and forgiveness. Out of balance: Can lead to insecurity and envy.
DurgaThe Goddess as the destroyer of demons, one of the energy forms of Shiva
DussehraHindu festival that celebrates the defeat of the demon King Ravan at the hands of Lord Ram. The name Dussehra is derived from Sanskrit Dasha-hara literally means The sun will not rise [Dasha (sun) and Hara (defeat)] referring to Lord Rama's victory over the ten-headed demon king Ravana. The day also marks the victory of Goddess Durga over the demons Mahishasur. Goddess fought with evils for 9 nights and 10 days.
DvijaTwice-born, referring to the Brahmins, (formerly even the Ksatriyas and Vaisyas), who undergo initiation into the Hindu religion at a sacred-thread ceremony.
Dwandva, DvandvaDuality; pairs of opposites

Yoga is an exact science. It aims at the harmonious development of body, mind and soul. Everyone should follow one Yoga as their primary Yoga (based on their character). Then we must combine Karma Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Bhakti Yoga and Gyan Yoga. This “Yoga Synthesis” will lead one to the God.
HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me
Kundalini Yoga is also known by the names: Siddha Yoga, Sahaj Yoga, Shaktipat Yoga, Maha Yoga, Shakti Yoga or Kriya Yoga