HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me

Happiness is our nature. It is not wrong to desire it. What is wrong is seeking it outside when it is inside - Ramana Maharshi

 Glossary of Spiritual Terms from Sanatana Dharma (Hinduism)
A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 
Paataala, Paataal LokLower lok, world. Generally refers to the Hell. This is opposite of Swarga Lok (heaven)
PadukaSandals of God, Guru or Saint. The Hindi word Paduka literally translates as "Footprints of the God". Traditional Paduka Sandals were made of wood with a post and a stub.
Panchendriya5 sense organs -
Para-Shaktisupreme power
Paramanand, AnandSupreme bliss
ParamatmaGod or Supreme Soul
ParayanaRepetitive devotional reading
ParigrahaCovetousness or greed, to possess and enjoy objects of the senses. Very strong desire to own something that you do not have and that belongs to someone else. Parigraha is the opposite of Aparigraha (a mental state or Bhava, wherein the sensual craving is dead.) Parigraha leads to anxiety to preserve, to fear of loss, to sorrow in loss, to hatred, anger, untruthfulness, stealing, etc. Aparigraha puts an end to all these defects and bestows peace, contentment and satisfaction.
Pingala (Nadi)Pingala is one of three important Nadis of human energy center. The other two are Sushumna and Ida. Nadis are astral tubes or subtle energy channels carrying abundance of Prana. Human body carries 72,000 Nadis that are not visible to naked eye. Kundalini is one of the primary components of man"s "subtle body", which consists of 72,000 nadis (subtle energy channels), chakras (psychic centres), prana (subtle energy), and bindu (drops of essence). Kundalini travels thru Sushumna. Kundalini Yoga is about purification of 72,000 Nadis. When Sushumna is pure, then only will the Kundalini pass through it. The progress of kundalini through the different chakras leads to different levels of awakening and mystical experiences, until the Kundalini finally reaches the top of the head, Sahasrara chakra, attaining the Self-Realization or enlightenment or moksha. When kundalini is taken to the Sahasrara (the crown of the head), when she is united with Lord Siva, perfect Samadhi (super-conscious, blissful state) ensues. Here the Yogi drinks the nectar of immortality.
Pooja, PujaWorship
Prajnanam BrahmaConsciousness is the Absolute. This is one of the four Mahavakyas (great utterances): "Prajnanam brahma" (consciousness is the Absolute); "aham brahma asmi" (I am the Absolute); "tat twam asi" (that thou art); "ayam atma brahma" (the Self is the Absolute)
PranaSubtle energy, vital breat
Pranavathe word of glory
PranayamaYoga breathing
Prarabdhaportion of your "sanchita" Karma being worked on in present life
PratyaharaWithdrawal of the senses, withdrawal of mind from sensual objects
Preyas MargaSensual life. This is opposite of Spiritual path (Shreyas Marga)
Puja, PoojaWorship
PunyaGood deeds
Purush, PurushaInner self

Yoga is an exact science. It aims at the harmonious development of body, mind and soul. Everyone should follow one Yoga as their primary Yoga (based on their character). Then we must combine Karma Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Bhakti Yoga and Gyan Yoga. This “Yoga Synthesis” will lead one to the God.
HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me
Kundalini Yoga is also known by the names: Siddha Yoga, Sahaj Yoga, Shaktipat Yoga, Maha Yoga, Shakti Yoga or Kriya Yoga