HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me

Happiness is our nature. It is not wrong to desire it. What is wrong is seeking it outside when it is inside - Ramana Maharshi

 What is Enlightenment or Supreme Consciousness?
What is Enlightenment, Self Realization, Supreme Consciousness or State of Moksha?

Lord Vishnu state of bliss beyond cycle of birth and death
Lord Vishnu - a state of Bliss beyond the cycle of birth and death
First things first

Am I an Enlightened One? No, I am NOT. I am millions of miles away from Enlightenment. I would not be maintaining this website if I was one. Honesty is my primary trait. I am a Dog at the feet of my Swami! I am just relaying what I can see. I might have experienced a little bit of everything but I am not the enlightened one!
Statistics of Enlightenment
Now, before we go into the discussion of "What is Enlightenment?" let us understand the statistics of enlightenment.

There are three types of people in the material world (99% of people belong to one of these categories)

  • Those that don't have enough and are struggling to attain enough
  • Those that have enough and are struggling to get the most
  • Those that have the most and are struggling to get the Peace and Tranquility (but have none.) They cannot even have a peaceful sleep of 6 hours. Unfortunately, many of these top ones die like Marline Monroe, Robin Williams and Michael Jackson.

...and there are three types of people in the spiritual world (Only 1% of people belong to one of these categories)

  • Those that are lost (and will find the destination if they continue their efforts...in the wrong direction - yes, I mean it “in the wrong direction".)
  • Those that exactly know the destination and are quietly walking towards it (there is only one in million, may be few more.)
  • The Enlightened One - The One that has reached the destination - the abode of bliss, eternal peace and tranquility – The Supreme Consciousness!

There is only one Enlightened One among millions....perhaps a billion. He owns the God's empire; No, the God is at his service; No, he is the God!

So, what exactly is Enlightenment or Supreme Consciousness?
To make it simple, I am going to use bullets instead of long paragraphs

  • Supreme Consciousness is a state
  • One who has attained Supreme Consciousness is called the Enlightened One.
  • The Enlightened One is the Jivanmukta - Liberated sage or liberated soul.
  • Enlightened One is always in a state of Nirvikalpa Samadhi (unconditioned state of super-consciousness).
  • The state is also called Samadhi, Moksha (liberation), Turiya (Transcendental state), Self-Realization. All these are synonymous terms.
  • The state of Samadhi is beyond the reach of mind and speech.
  • The state of Samadhi is all joy, bliss and peace. It cannot be explained by words. It must be felt and experienced by the aspirant himself.
  • Turiya transcends the three states ­ the waking state, the dream state and the deep sleep state ­ and so it is called the Fourth State.
  • Enlightened One has attained the state of 'Paramananda' (Supreme bliss). He is free from all sorts of pains and miseries.
  • He has separated the mind from the body and united it with the Supreme Self. Moksha (liberation) is loss of one's personality in the divine. Just as the river becomes the ocean itself, the individual soul has become the mighty supreme soul.
  • Enlightened One is liberated or freed from the cycle of births and deaths
  • God's Empire is at the disposal of the Liberated One
  • The Enlightened One has all the Siddhis (abilities to create miracles) serving at his feet
  • He uses None
  • Divine uses miracles through him, he is not even aware of it, nor does he care about it.
  • God or Guru cannot give you the experience Enlightenment.
  • Seeker walks every step of this journey towards Nirvikalpa Samadhi.
  • One must walk millions of miles in the Wrong-direction (according to the world) to reach there.
  • It is the most painful journies of all.
How can one attain the Supreme Consciousness or Enlightenment?
These three things are absolutely necessary to become a Jivanmukta (liberated sage or the Enlightened One) 

  • The mind (monkey) as we know has completed died or destroyed (100%)
  • The desires (Vasanas) and the attachment to objects have vanished entirely
  • The Karma account has almost reached to zero

One who achieved all three is the liberated one.

How can I attain the Self Realization, Supreme Consciousness or Enlightenment?
Seeker combines Karma Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Gyan Yoga and all other Yogas at different stages of this journey. This “Yoga Synthesis” leads one to the God.

It is a ladder of million steps. On every rung of this ladder you learn something new, which is disproven in the next step and the rise continues until everything that we know as ordinary human is proven wrong and the only thing left is ocean of eternal bliss, beyond birth and death.

Swami Sivananda says: "If a Sadhak gets real samadhi (super-consciousness) in a hundred births, that is a very great achievement. God is perfect; and unless and until all the evil qualities are eradicated and divine qualities acquired to the degree of perfection, there will be no samadhi"

The last step is the omnipotent, omniscient and omnipresent
Lord Krishna with Arjuna at Battlefield
Bhagavad Gita: Chapter 3, Verse 19

The highest ideal for every Sadhak is `Siddha-Avasthaa' i.e. state of perfection or `Moksha' i.e. release from the cycle of multiple births and deaths. As a result of the knowledge of the Self, a Yogi has nothing left in balance, which is yet to be acquired for anyone including himself. It is all the same to him whether he performs an action or does not perform it. If such a Yogi has nothing to do gain or lose from others then as per the modern principle of `the path of the least action', his logical choice must be inaction and not action; as he has nothing to achieve for himself as well as for others.....In the rhythm of incessantly beating of heart, a Sadhak carries out various mundane worldly activities without even noticing every single beat of his heart. Absence of attachment leads to pacification of mind; thus work and rest go on as if reflex actions. Mind made calm in this way becomes capable of grasping the Self. Calmness of mind is the essential pre-requisite for the knowledge of the Self.

Yoga is an exact science. It aims at the harmonious development of body, mind and soul. Everyone should follow one Yoga as their primary Yoga (based on their character). Then we must combine Karma Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Raja Yoga, Bhakti Yoga and Gyan Yoga. This “Yoga Synthesis” will lead one to the God.
HOME | Kundalini | Divine Experiences | Karma | Q & A | Glossary | e-Yoga | About me | Contact me
Kundalini Yoga is also known by the names: Siddha Yoga, Sahaj Yoga, Shaktipat Yoga, Maha Yoga, Shakti Yoga or Kriya Yoga